I am Enough

It is enough to be taken care of by myself
I stare at my toes, dug into earth
clinging for shelter as 
I seem to tailor
  pacify
    fancy this notion
between the callouses of my fingerprints
The words get caught like a knife in my teeth
between the grooves of my fingers
they flow through the furrows of my skin
I imagine myself :: euphoric
my roots in the dense & damp dirt
  my body, like a stem, shooting from a broken bulb
    my love laid out around my face like crimson tulip petals
It is enough to be taken care of by myself
I repeat this
   v   e 
o   &   r 
   v   e
The words hang off my tongue
like heavy watered leaves, sinking
from a wet black bough
I close my eyes
everything drops dead
like a burning forrest
sooty and ashy – colorless remnants
and all that is left is
the annunciation repeated of
I am enough.

About laurenfedorko

Aspiring writer. English teacher. Philosophy: know more about the world than you did yesterday and lessen the suffering of others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

