Night Sky

My plan was to play hard to get, yes,
I didn’t want to just
give myself away – I’m not an easy find.
I always seem to be running away
from the things that move my soul.
I’d never been anybody’s night sky.
But he has eyes like the north star.
My pupils dilate every time we kiss.
Makes me wish we could tango
in the middle of an empty street
Makes me wish I could swim inside his body
and kiss his inner core.
Love is like being in a dense fog – 
it’s hard to tell what’s coming next
You mistake his name for a buttercup,
your bed becomes a field of damp grass at dusk.
It is that warm blotch of yellow
that leads me home in the middle of the night.
And if there’s one thing in this world I know for sure
it’s that this man can make me feel like
I’m the gum on the sole of a shoe
being constantly squished and stepped on – 
he can leave me so god damn little and invisible 
that I cower away from dreams
but I tell him I’m his
and he takes me in his arms.
I’m not looking for someone to sweep me off my feet
I need someone who can make me
do one thing every day that scares the shit out of me.
I need someone who will inspire the marrow in my bones,
the blood in my veins,
the frontal lobes in my skull.
I want your hello to feel like a butterfly’s flutter,
your goodbye like an earthquake,
and your I love yous like a symphony.
Let me say that I want you,
curled beside my body in the middle of the night,
eyelids kissed shut –
So gentle that my capillaries scream 
when I have to leave you.
Let me also say 
that I’ve never seen anything so flawless
as when your eyes lock with mine – 
Iris to iris,
nose to nose,
and forehead to forehead – our minds
compressed together sharing
our deepest thoughts.
You are so handsome.
My love is like a heavy cumulonimbus charcoal machine
in the middle of the desert – 
bringing life to the long been dead.
Can you imagine anything more terrifying?
Can you imagine anything more alive?

About laurenfedorko

Aspiring writer. English teacher. Philosophy: know more about the world than you did yesterday and lessen the suffering of others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

